General Forums >> General Discussions >> Opinions needed

Rate

Opinions needed

850 Views
49 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Img_7189_max50

12 posts

back to top

Posted 4 months ago

 

I hope yall don't mind me asking but I need some opinions for my discussion board for my Criminal Justice class. Why do you think it's important law enforcement does preventive patrolling? And how is it effective? Thanks again! 

Patrolcar_pic_max50

997 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted 4 months ago

 

Hmmm.....


Anywhere a marked patrol car is, is being preventative. I like to call it "deterring crime through a visible patrol presence." Law enforcement is typically reactive in nature, meaning people call in a complaint, we respond to it, investigate, and arrest if possible. Anything we can do to be proactive, such as community policing, patrolling neighborhoods regularly, is definitely beneficial. It's tough to measure its effectiveness, but I would imagine when a marked car is regularly patrolling a neighborhood, burglaries are less likely to occur. A restaurant where uniformed officers are eating at, or a gas station where one may be grabbing a coffee (or mountain dew in my case) is much less likely to be robbed. It happens, but not very frequently.


"People sleep peacefully in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf. "

White_shirt_max50

5052 posts

    

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

We generally don't do homework assignments for members. My feeling is you will have a feeling of accomplishment if you complete the assignment yourself. You were lucky to receive the assistance from a PL member. I am curious if you will apprise your instructor of the assistance you received on this assignment.

Patrolcar_pic_max50

997 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

Uncledennis will only respond with gifts of butter brickle ice cream. Kidding of course :)


 


Nicole, you'll probably get much better and in depth response from interviewing officers from the area you're in, especially if on a ride a long at a department. Every area is different, and has its own unique challenges.


"People sleep peacefully in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf. "

White_shirt_max50

5052 posts

    

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted 4 months ago

 

Jkaz232 you make a very valid point. The instructor will be more impressed if the student takes the time to conduct a one on one interview with a police officer. I recall when I was finishing up my BS Degree my assignment was to interview top managers of several agencies. Since I was a chief of police I could have made phone calls and then reported my findings. I took the time to schedule personal interviews with management personnel from three agencies. I also took the time to send letters of appreciation.

Just_passin__thru_max50

6012 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

 Do a scholarly search for 'predictive policing'. It's what's trending.


(It has however, been around for many many years.....)


 


The Guy !
Photobucket

Honoring the Fallen

Img_7189_max50

12 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

 Thanks everyone. I was doing my own research at the same time I asked this. I just wanted opinions. My teacher was actually very impressed with my main post and I didn't use anything you have said on here. Like I said was just looking for opinions. 

Star_max160_max160_max50

5852 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

Jkaz232 says ...



Uncledennis will only respond with gifts of butter brickle ice cream. Kidding of course :)


 


Nicole, you'll probably get much better and in depth response from interviewing officers from the area you're in, especially if on a ride a long at a department. Every area is different, and has its own unique challenges.



Ditto........................


It is what it is.............and.........these things too shall pass.

1asteriskshield_ezr_max50

1922 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

 I think it is important to do preventive patrol, especially late at night, so we can see what food places are still open. I always get hungry working nights.........


You can't cure stupid.

Vpsomourningband_max50

5354 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

ajsdaddyBPD says ...



 I think it is important to do preventive patrol, especially late at night, so we can see what food places are still open. I always get hungry working nights.........



Donuts and coffee? 


Photobucket

~I wondered why somebody didn't do something, then I realized I was somebody. ~ unknown

Gator_max50

5502 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

DonnaLynn says ...



ajsdaddyBPD says ...



 I think it is important to do preventive patrol, especially late at night, so we can see what food places are still open. I always get hungry working nights.........



Donuts and coffee? 



Pure Protein bars and Muscle Milk?

Vpsomourningband_max50

5354 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted 4 months ago

 

Lulusgt says ...



DonnaLynn says ...



ajsdaddyBPD says ...



 I think it is important to do preventive patrol, especially late at night, so we can see what food places are still open. I always get hungry working nights.........



Donuts and coffee? 



Pure Protein bars and Muscle Milk?



Pure Protein bars = whatever unsuspecting animal is near the edge of the water.  Muscle Milk = bayou water.


Photobucket

~I wondered why somebody didn't do something, then I realized I was somebody. ~ unknown

Gator_max50

5502 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

DonnaLynn says ...



Lulusgt says ...



DonnaLynn says ...



ajsdaddyBPD says ...



 I think it is important to do preventive patrol, especially late at night, so we can see what food places are still open. I always get hungry working nights.........



Donuts and coffee? 



Pure Protein bars and Muscle Milk?



Pure Protein bars = whatever unsuspecting animal is near the edge of the water.  Muscle Milk = bayou water.



Sooooooooo......you're saying it works?!?!?!?

Vpsomourningband_max50

5354 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted 4 months ago

 

Lulusgt says ...



DonnaLynn says ...



Lulusgt says ...



DonnaLynn says ...



ajsdaddyBPD says ...



 I think it is important to do preventive patrol, especially late at night, so we can see what food places are still open. I always get hungry working nights.........



Donuts and coffee? 



Pure Protein bars and Muscle Milk?



Pure Protein bars = whatever unsuspecting animal is near the edge of the water.  Muscle Milk = bayou water.



Sooooooooo......you're saying it works?!?!?!?



From the looks of you it's keeping you nice and trim, but it does absolutely nothing for the rough skin, narrow beady eyes and long snout.  Have you thought about a nose job.  I think if you shortened and narrowed it a bit your eyes wouldn't look so closely spaced and creepy.  j/s


Photobucket

~I wondered why somebody didn't do something, then I realized I was somebody. ~ unknown

Gator_max50

5502 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted 4 months ago

 

Ahhhhh come on!!!! You're going after the nose!!!!!! Really?????? Geeeezzzzzzzzz

Female_bodysurfer_max50

8427 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

Lulusgt, we wouldn't go after your nose if you didn't lead in with your nose!

Gator_max50

5502 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted 4 months ago

 

? Don't we all?

-6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

speaking of noses, I like mine. it's pointy enough to lead you anywhere lol

Star_max160_max160_max50

5852 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted 4 months ago

 

Lulusgt says ...



? Don't we all?



 I guess soooooooooooo.......................


It is what it is.............and.........these things too shall pass.

78_pct_max50

186 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

"Police Science".


"Patrol Function".


"Police is always aware".


"Omnipresence".


"Crime deterrent"


"Prevention"


In NYPD terms,


But, off course, the criminals view point is somewhat different:  "YO, DON'T DO THAT S*** BRO, THESE M**** F****" ARE EVERYWHERE"


And yes... It is effective.

Female_bodysurfer_max50

8427 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

Lulu somebody told me you were a local middleweight champ.  I was just kiddin' about leading in with your nose. 


Lulusgt says ...



? Don't we all?


Star_max160_max160_max50

5852 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

MarlyB says ...



Lulu somebody told me you were a local middleweight champ.  I was just kiddin' about leading in with your nose. 


Lulusgt says ...



? Don't we all?



He leads with the front knoggin......that thing has has been compared to fortified mesh concrete.


It is what it is.............and.........these things too shall pass.

Female_bodysurfer_max50

8427 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

As long as Lulu won't back into a fight, I can breathe easy. 


-6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

anticipating any crime is probably a stressful experience and might require instinct probably but as a former cj student, I think it's handy. Stopping something before* it actually happens is how to keep people safe. Waiting until you get a 9-11 dispatch call and racing to a scene as its already in progress leaves seconds, minutes and time in general for anything to get out of control. I don't really know what preventative patrol is cause I never read that in the book but... sounds extrememly useful as a way to keep people safe.

Img_7189_max50

12 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

 WTF did I just read LOL yall are cracking me up 

Gator_max50

5502 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

Don't worry Marly, I don't care which way I go into the fight, cause if needed I'm going it anyway I can.

-6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

like oh my god!!!

1asteriskshield_ezr_max50

1922 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

e8nt392 says ...



anticipating any crime is probably a stressful experience and might require instinct probably but as a former cj student, I think it's handy. Stopping something before* it actually happens is how to keep people safe. Waiting until you get a 9-11 dispatch call and racing to a scene as its already in progress leaves seconds, minutes and time in general for anything to get out of control. I don't really know what preventative patrol is cause I never read that in the book but... sounds extrememly useful as a way to keep people safe.


 


 


Never read it in the book? It ain't in a book. It is something we do to create a presence. Does it prevent crime? Maybe. Maybe not. I think it depends on how desperate the crackhead is to get his next high. Also, actually rolling up on an unreported crime in progress is rare. Normally ey see the fancy shmancy car and high tail it away, thus the need for an air of omni-presence.



You can't cure stupid.

-6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

well I only gots books for reference here. Kansas city experiment my butt. wait a minute, is this on the test?

-6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 4 months ago

 

for reference : kansis city experiment was done as a statistical measure/record for preventative patrol. cant believe I still remember that now. well, Im getting old im happy when I remember lol

Next Page >