General Forums >> Law Enforcement Careers >> 3rd degree assault charge

Rate

3rd degree assault charge

454 Views
15 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top

Posted over 1 year ago

 

Ok , I have an important question, over 5 years ago I got a 3rd degree assault charge, which was stupid for literally leeaving a scratch on a girl who came at me first. Anyway I am just finishing my Bachelors in criminal justice and am having a hard time getting accepted into the field. I don't want to be an officer, I am leaning more towards probation. Is having this charge on my record going to screw me out of a career in CJ?


 

White_shirt_max50

5106 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

Call and axe.

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

I have asked an everytime they say it isn't a problem, then I get through the poly and they tell me that my background is the problem. I have nothing on my record other then that. Perfect driving record, great credit. I am starting to worry that I have spent all this time and money on a career I won't be allowed into for something so silly.

Texas02n_max600_max50

328 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

 What else is in your background?


"Niether fire nor wind, birth nor death can erase our good deeds." Buddha

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

There is nothing else in my background, not even a speeding ticket , ever.

Download_max50

4526 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

Well hmmm.... leaning toward Probation.


Then hey, ask your Probation Officer !


 


Check out the PoliceLink.com Facebook page. It was established in 2008.

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
-1

Rated -1 | Posted over 1 year ago

 

Very funny there Sarge, considering I have never been on probation in my life . A simple answer would be appreciated.

Eagle_avatar_max50

7066 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 1 year ago

 

What position were you seeking (or applied for) when you took the poly?


You could always contact your local probation office and speak with someone there.


In GOD We Trust (All others get searched, then checked through NCIC)

MODERATOR #10

Photobucket

IN HONOR OF OUR FALLEN

Aloha-heart-on-sand_max50

8588 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

Sarge.  You SLAY ME!!! 


DIDN'T YOU SEE HER COME AT ME??!!



TheSarge says ...



Well hmmm.... leaning toward Probation.


Then hey, ask your Probation Officer !


 



Marketing Rule #1

Respect your audience.

Online-photo-sharing-gallery-animal-cat-cougar-artct45_max160_max50

5936 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

I am a probation officer. We are POST certified officers in my state with full police powers. It would be a problem here.


PL's Mamacat

1470392_10205607568942018_1213501835514947434_n_max50

5827 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

You cannot be POST certified in Colorado with a 3rd degree assault on your record. Not sure about other States.


 


Photobucket
In Memory of the Fallen Officers

MODERATOR 3

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

It was dropped to disturbing the peace, it wasn't DV, I only paid a fine and no classes or anything. It was a scratch from me pointing at a girl to tell her to hush and stratched her hand. I'm in Colorado and it only states if you have any DV or felonies. This was 7 years ago.

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

JIMROC, I am also a resident of Colorado and nowhere does it say you can't be POST cert with 3M charge.

Eagle_avatar_max50

7066 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

sher_b says ...



It was dropped to disturbing the peace, it wasn't DV, I only paid a fine and no classes or anything. It was a scratch from me pointing at a girl to tell her to hush and stratched her hand. I'm in Colorado and it only states if you have any DV or felonies. This was 7 years ago.



Background investigation not only includes the case disposition in Court, but also the original charge with the arresting Agency. Therein probably lies the problem with your background.


In GOD We Trust (All others get searched, then checked through NCIC)

MODERATOR #10

Photobucket

IN HONOR OF OUR FALLEN

Star_max160_max160_max50

6232 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

TheSarge says ...



Well hmmm.... leaning toward Probation.


Then hey, ask your Probation Officer !


Absolutely.........axe him????


 



It is what it is.............and.........these things too shall pass.