General Forums >> The Lobby >> Wa State CPL question

Rate

Wa State CPL question

189 Views
11 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top

Posted over 1 year ago

 

 Sorry if this is in the wrong section...


 


I just got my CPL here in Washington State a couple days ago and I was looking for the answers to a couple questions online and I couldnt really find a good rules and regs source for CPL so I thought I would ask here. 


 


When driving, do I have to have my pistol on me or can it be in the glovebox, under seat etc... and loaded?


Right now I only have a hip holster... Can I carry my pistol on my hip while loaded since I have my CPL or does it have to be concealed while loaded?


 


Sorry if these are dumb questions, I just want to make sure I am not breaking the law.


 


Thanks for any help :)

White_shirt_max50

4924 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

What is the policy of your employer regarding your questions? Why not axe the agency in your community?

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 


Was gonna call the local PD today but didnt get around to it due to being busy at work and I dont understand your reference to policy of my employer? 


 


Since I cant call till monday, I figured I would ask and see if someone in WA knew the answers  :)




White_shirt_max50

4924 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

I may be confused I thought you were a truck driver. I would take the time to call your local cop shop as soon as possible. If you are speaking of a CCW permit (that is what is called in my state) check the handout material you received when you took the class. You may want to google. Sorry for the confusion. To be honest I am not even sure what the guidelines are in my state.

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

 Oh no prob at all and yes I actually am a trucker :) But, I was just refering to driving in my pickup. 


 


Here in Washington you dont need to take a class. All I did was fill out an application, pay the fee and they did a background check on me. They called me 10 days later and said I got my license and that was that. No books or manulas, no rules and regs, nothing...lol


 


I have been looking on Google but its hard to find concrete info, mainly just a bunch of people saying different things and i'd rather not trust that..lol I will definitely be calling on Monday.


 


Thanks Uncle.

Quickley-b240_max50

9499 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

3/23/13


 I didn't read this but maybe it will help.


 


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.41.050


"The hottest places in hell are reserved for those who, in times of moral crisis, do nothing." Dante

MODERATOR #2
PL Mentoring Team Member

Photobucket Honoring Our Fallen

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

 Oh no prob at all and yes I actually am a trucker :) But, I was just refering to driving in my pickup. 


 


Here in Washington you dont need to take a class. All I did was fill out an application, pay the fee and they did a background check on me. They called me 10 days later and said I got my license and that was that. No books or manulas, no rules and regs, nothing...lol


 


I have been looking on Google but its hard to find concrete info, mainly just a bunch of people saying different things and i'd rather not trust that..lol I will definitely be calling on Monday.


 


Thanks Uncle.

White_shirt_max50

4924 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

I don't make traffic stops at my job. Your local cop shop could inform you with a two minute phone call. I am surprised your state doesn't require at least some class room instructions. My state requires an 8 hour class and qualification with a handgun. I would be concerned at a state that requires no instructions. This could be a disaster. I would also advise you check with your insurance carrier for an umbrella policy, I carry 24/7 and am insured. I piggy back on my home owners policy.

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

Well, I was in the USMC for 8 years so I have had plenty of trining but I do agree with you about a class being needed. Just because you can pass a background check doesnt mean you cant/wont hurt yourself or someone else on accident.


 


 

White_shirt_max50

4924 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

Thanks for your service. I thought you were coming in with a clean slate. You are a step ahead of most. Even thought I am a retire chief of police I qualify 4 or 5 times a year with a professional instructor.

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

 Thanks :) and can't agrue with you there on getting refreshers courses!