Off Duty Forums >> Locker Room (Public Access) >> Lapd initial background review &polygraph

Rate

Lapd initial background review &polygraph

1,804 Views
8 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Image_max50

3 posts

back to top

Posted over 1 year ago

 

 Going in this Monday to do the initial background review and polygraph, any tips or pointers.


has anyone gone through this. What should I expect?

Fall_2007_027__2__max50

197 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

 Be truthful, honest, and candid.  The interviewer/Investigator will ask your family, friends, co-workers and neighbors about you.  If there is something there, they'll find it.  They'll ask those people who they know that also know you...and interview them.  And so it goes till you are vetted.


This profession needs good people with solid character.  Your future peers demand it, and work to root out bad candidates.  You can try and fool them, but the academy is 7 months long, probation is 18 months, and your career will be 20 + years.  We'll get to know your character eventually...do you want to suffer through the rigors of the academy to get fired on graduation day because they found something that would have DQ'd you?


good luck

Image_max50

3 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

 Thank you for the tips.

Fall_2007_027__2__max50

197 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

 After some more reflection, I should have also said:


Relax this weekend, stay home with family and relax. Get lots of rest on Sunday night and don't skip meals. It can effect your stress levels. Take a deep breath and head off to your appointments on Monday knowing, "this is the easy part."


As difficult as the application process may seem, it is the easy part.  You've already made those decisions, made those choices.


Challenging part is the career itself, and making the decisions ahead.


so don't stress these two interviews...just relax and prepare to tell them what kind of person you are by what you have done in the past and the kind of company you keep.


 

Newpatch_sq90_max50

6010 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

Don't beat your self up and think about everything you did in the third grade, like I did.  They don't go back that far.  Just be yourself and be honest.  Everyone has something in their closet, just be relaxed and honest and you will do fine.  Trust me.


Photobucket
In Memory of the Fallen Officers

MODERATOR 3

Th_policeavatar_2__max50

734 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 1 year ago

 

1-11-13


Unless you robbed a bodega in the 3rd grade!


I assume you have done the preliminaries, test-application packet. If you have stated the truth, it will never change.Only lies change when you can't remember which ones you have told. They will go over any inconsistencies and give you a chance to explain. You will be given the chance to explain any omissions, anything uncovered during the background investigation. Before the poly you will be given the chance to either correct or add information from your application. Once it starts thats it. You will be at their mercy. Remember, the truth is a story that never changes no matter how many times it is told. How you carry and present yourself is just as important. Good luck.


""Life is a storm.. You will bask in the sunlight one moment, be shattered on the rocks the next. What makes you a man is what you do when that storm comes"
Alexander Dumas-The Count of Monte Christo

Photo_user_blank_big

3 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 7 months ago

 

 I am prior Military service and I recently went to a seminar for LAPD. They had me fill out a questionare for my background, and I was very honest about experiencing a drug one time in my youth prior to my military service, will I be able to explain the myself or will this screw me for a job opportunity?

Gods_team_max50

2375 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted 7 months ago

 

Be honest in your application, polygraph packet and test and you'll be fine. Relax! 


http://www.iamsorryivotedforobama.com/

How's that HOPE and CHANGE working out for you?

What would you do for a Klondike bar?