General Forums >> Gear and Equipment >> PX 4 Storm Reviews?

+1

PX 4 Storm Reviews?

858 Views
8 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top

Posted over 2 years ago

 

Hello to all and I hope you are well!  I was hoping to get some reviews of the Beretta PX-4 Storm in a 9mm.  I am considering the compact version.  Does anyone have any input on their experience with this firearm either positive or negative?  Thank you in advance for your time and any input.  Everyone be safe and have a great day!

Profile1_max50

118 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

     Lemme start by saying that I AM biased. I don't like Berretta (unless of course it's a trap shotgun, but that's another conversation).


 


     I don't like the saftey/decocker switch on the slide. It's sharp and doesn't have any traction. Other than that, ergonomics are pretty nice with the adjustable backstraps. I haven't fired it, but I've heard the recoil kinda sucks.


"Any sudden hand movements will render your birth certificate a useless piece of scrap paper."

Wu_college_max50

10 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

 I have a Beretta PX4 in .45 ACP.


Long story short - it's a well designed, ergonomic, low recoil, high reliability weapon.  The trigger is nice - certainly not like a 1911, but in my opinion, much better than the squishy Glock or S&W M&P triggers.  Double action is long, but smooth, single action breaks cleanly, though it has a little bit of takeup - nothing deal breaking.  Ergonomics are great, especially with interchangeable backstraps.


The rotating barrel system seems novel, but it's a tried and true design, and it actually mitigates recoil because a lot of the vertical force ends up being channeled into the rotation of the barrel, which in turn means less muzzle flip.  I know that mine is the softest shooting .45 I've ever handled.


It's reliable - haven't had it malfunction even once in over 4000 rounds, including bad ammo, and occasionally neglecting to clean for over 1000 rounds.


The sight radius is short, which I find to be the only real flaw.  Good shooting fundamentals help to mitigate this, but if your sights are off, your shot will probably be way off.


The slide mounted safety/decocker has never really been a problem for me.  They are like angry puppies biting your fingers at first, but you'll get used to it fast and soon, it's not even a problem.  In any case I use the slide release regardless, rather than the overhand or slingshot method.  The slide release is nice and big, of course.


 


I have nothing but good things to say about the Beretta PX4.  In my opinion, it's an underrated gun that a lot of people will pass up in favor of the run of the mill Glocks and Springfields.  Not to say that those are BAD, but in a day and age where everyone has one, why not get something a little unique?  I've only met a few other people that own them, so most of the time I get curious questions at the range, and I'm always proud to tell them about it.  Not sure I could ever use it as a duty gun, but if I was given the choice, I probably would.


 


I proudly shoot a Beretta, and my Beretta is a PX4.


 


*Edit.  Also, in the many gun stores I've been to, never once have I seen a used PX4 for sale.  I've seen many used Glocks, Springfields, and Smiths.  While it seems that buyers are not as common, those who buy the Beretta, keep the Beretta.

Jpd_new_max50

1893 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

As long as the pistol is manufatured by a reputable maker (Smith & Wesson, Colt, Glock, Sig, Beretta, Kimber, and so on) you should not have a problem.  Practice, maintenance, and good ammo are keys to having a good pistol.  The style you want is based on your personal preference and what you can afford. 


"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."
George Orwell

“The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting.”
― Sun Tzu

PL Mentoring Team Member

Photo_user_blank_big

11 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted about 2 years ago

 

 A friend of mine just picked up the PX 4 Storm in the 9mm. I have to say that after shooting it i was really inpressed. I have never really been a fan of the 9mm, however from the moment that i picked up the storm it has a good feel when it is in your hand. Being left handed I loved the ambidextrious (sp? lol) safety/decocking lever. I had no problems with the way it shot either, however the owner of the gun said he a feeding issue or two with cheap walmart ammo, Remington umc i believe. Other than that it appears to be a great gun and I have considered purchasing one for myself.

Photo_user_blank_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 2 years ago

 

I finally purchased my PX4 Storm in the full-size 9mm.  I was impressed at the accuracy right out of the box.  I really like it so far.  I will update over time!

Lady_jessie_max50

5963 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 2 years ago

 

I gotta get out more often.


I haven't handled a Beretta in years.


Has this weapons system been upgraded in, say, the last 10 years?


No slam intended. I would just like to know. I used to be able to do that disarming technique by stripping off the slide while it was pointed at me.


(A training exercise.... redundant safeties in place.)


The Guy !
Photobucket

Honoring the Fallen

Photo_user_blank_big

4 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 2 years ago

 

Im actually planning on buying the PX4 in a full sized 9 from buds. Ill let you know how it shoots.


As far as ergonomics is concerned, I've handled the subcompact, compact, and full size at a local gun show and it feels great


I've heard that once in a while you'll get one with faulty sights. I guess that's just something you have to check out before hand.


Also, It should come with the replacement grip for larger hands. Always a plus.