PoliceLink Feedback & Feature Requests >> From the Desk of TheSarge >> On the LIghter Side ... Opinions Please.

+6

On the LIghter Side ... Opinions Please.

939 Views
34 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Just_passin__thru_max50

5998 posts

back to top

Posted over 2 years ago

 

I am rattling around the idea of taking Mrs. Sarge on an Alaskan cruise.


For those of you in the know: I need some general advice.


For those of you with an opinion: Jump on and let me know what you're thinking.


So's you have some info: I have never been on a cruise, don't really want to do a Caribbean/warmer/party cruise, want to be away from children if possible and want to be on a standard size ship. Glacier Bay, Sitka and Ketchikan ? Good places? Juneau? How many days? I would also like to have a window, possibly a balcony.


I have sailed the Pacific Rim on my own private yacht. I had to share it with 3,000 other guys and their airplanes, but it was pleasant enough.


Fire away......


(I also recognize that some other people may benefit from this info. This is fine by me.)


The Guy !
Photobucket

Honoring the Fallen

White_shirt_max50

4985 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 2 years ago

 

I have no advice but to say go for it and have fun. To many folks getting sick on the cruises. Keep in mind ship happens.

Female_bodysurfer_max50

8263 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Alaska - YES!!  I have never been there!!


Both of you should lose some weight before you go.  On cruises you eat like crazy!! 

Screen_shot_2011-04-10_at_8

999 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

I have never been to Alaska but I have been on two cruises. One was 7 days one was 3 days. I do like the longer cruises and if I had a chance for a cruise to Alaska, I would go for 2 weeks! I have also had better luck getting deals straight from the cruise line and some give LE discounts. Don't go during holiday breaks if you don't want to be around kids. You do eat a lot but there is a bunch to do and most boats have the gym on board. I would go for a balcony if sitting in your room is what you plan on doing. If you are okay with going to the open decks and lounges, save your money and get an inside cabin. I found that I was in my room only to sleep and the inside cabin is way cheaper and just as nice. But it is all in what you want to do, I hope this helped. Sorry I didn't have more for ya! Good luck and have a blast.



~~T_9

Just_passin__thru_max50

5998 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

All good suggestions so far. Yeah, good thinking on the inside versus a balconied cabin. 300-400 sq isn't big.


Shet, by way of nautical info, ... the longer and larger the ship, the less likelihood of seasickness. It is a simple explanation due to length of construction. If a ship can ride on 'top' of the surface of a wavy ocean and not dip into the trough [pitch], then you don't have the common cause of nausea. Yaw and roll are more easily handled.


Note: The Concordia 'rolled' after running aground.


The Guy !
Photobucket

Honoring the Fallen

Mr-natural_1__max50

2228 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

The darker side...of the lighter side...


http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/vsp/pub/norovirus/Norovirus.htm  (Facts About Noroviruses on Cruise Ships)




Bessie Braddock: “Sir, you are drunk.”
Churchill: “Madam, you are ugly. In the morning, I shall be sober.”

Cert_max600_max50

558 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 2 years ago

 

An Alaskan cruise will be the best vacation you ever take. Make sure that you get off the boat at all of the ports of call and take in the sites. A bush plane ride or a helicoptor ride. Lumber jack shows, Native american sites, the pipeline, nature walks! See as much as you can!


PL Mentoring Team Member

Compliance is not an option; it's a matter of time!

Female_bodysurfer_max50

8263 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 2 years ago

 

I tend to get sleepy which I guess is a form of seasickness.


I had a job on a film crew on a down to the pegs reproduction of the Golden Hinde.  We took her about five miles from the Mexican border and staged a sea battle in heavy chop with two ships done different down each side to double as four.  I had fallen asleep downin the hold where my little wardrobe department was.  I came up and the whole world turned upside down.  We had camera boat and chopper shots. Everytime we came around between takes I had to run fore and aft and change the sailors over from good guys to bad and back.  


I got things ready for another take then lurched up to the fo'c'sle.  There I stood at the railing.  The captain came over from the wheel.  "What is it?" he said.  "I'm trying to right my middle ear by staring at the horizon!."  I was streaming tears for the effort.  My GOD I was seasick!!

Just_passin__thru_max50

5998 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 2 years ago

 

mz66 says ...



The darker side...of the lighter side...


http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/vsp/pub/norovirus/Norovirus.htm  (Facts About Noroviruses on Cruise Ships)


++++++++++++++


You're just a ray of sunshine, are't ya Matt?


Meds...check.



The Guy !
Photobucket

Honoring the Fallen

Polar-bear-wave_1533538i_max50

4077 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

HEY! I live in Alaska! I'll PM ya my e-mail. VALDEZ is a DEFINATE MUST! This is the only town in AK where you can see Brown bears, Black bears, and eagles ( of 2 varities) in one spot. Like without even turning around! Probably get em all in one picture! Additionally, the bears are used to seeing tourists so your chances of getting eaten AS LONG AS you maintain common sense are very slim. NEVER approach them and if they come closer than 20 yards, LEAVE. Anywhere else in the state increase that to 200 yrds. But you know somebody on the inside here, utilize that. Take a cruise that gives you good shore time in Valdez, and or Juneau. Anchorage is ok, but not great. If you stop in Valdez, you could fish for salmon! I'll tell ya and or give ya a ride to the best spot (on the beach by the terminal).


YaYa SweetAsAVelociraptor
YaYa Sisterhood! Catz rule, dawgs drool!

Just_passin__thru_max50

5998 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

MarlyB says ...



I had a job on a film crew on a down to the pegs reproduction of the Golden Hinde.  We took her about five miles from the Mexican border and staged a sea battle in heavy chop with two ships done different down each side to double as four.  We had camera boat and chopper shots. Everytime we came around between takes I had to run fore and aft and change the sailors over from good guys to bad and back.  


I got things ready for another take.  Then I stood at the railing.  The captain came over from the wheel.  "What is it?" he said.  "I'm trying to right my middle ear by staring at the horizon!."  I was streaming tears for the effort.  My GOD I was seasick!!



++++++++++++++++++++++


How about that ? You made me think about The Gjoa. It was near Playland at the Beach and down the hill from the Cliff House in San Francisco. In 1972, it was given back to Norway and lives in the Norwegian Maritime Museum.


The Guy !
Photobucket

Honoring the Fallen

Just_passin__thru_max50

5998 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

freezerburn says ...



HEY! I live in Alaska! I'll PM ya my e-mail. VALDEZ is a DEFINATE MUST! This is the only town in AK where you can see Brown bears, Black bears, and eagles ( of 2 varities) in one spot. Like without even turning around! Probably get em all in one picture! Additionally, the bears are used to seeing tourists so your chances of getting eaten AS LONG AS you maintain common sense are very slim. NEVER approach them and if they come closer than 20 yards, LEAVE. Anywhere else in the state increase that to 200 yrds. But you know somebody on the inside here, utilize that. Take a cruise that gives you good shore time in Valdez, and or Juneau. Anchorage is ok, but not great. If you stop in Valdez, you could fish for salmon! I'll tell ya and or give ya a ride to the best spot (on the beach by the terminal).


++++++++++++++++


FISHING FOR SALMON !!! I am in for that. Great suggestion. I might be limited in where the ship drops anchor.



The Guy !
Photobucket

Honoring the Fallen

Polar-bear-wave_1533538i_max50

4077 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

If ya let me know where your stops are I can give ya the inside info on fishing there.


YaYa SweetAsAVelociraptor
YaYa Sisterhood! Catz rule, dawgs drool!

Female_bodysurfer_max50

8263 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

It was a bathtub!  I will have to look up the Gjoa.  The Golden Hinde repro is at http://goldenhinde.com#welcome/453725022.


Alaska!!  I hope you take some photos and post them!!


 


TheSarge says ...



MarlyB says ...



I had a job on a film crew on a down to the pegs reproduction of the Golden Hinde.  We took her about five miles from the Mexican border and staged a sea battle in heavy chop with two ships done different down each side to double as four.  We had camera boat and chopper shots. Everytime we came around between takes I had to run fore and aft and change the sailors over from good guys to bad and back.  


I got things ready for another take.  Then I stood at the railing.  The captain came over from the wheel.  "What is it?" he said.  "I'm trying to right my middle ear by staring at the horizon!."  I was streaming tears for the effort.  My GOD I was seasick!!



++++++++++++++++++++++


How about that ? You made me think about The Gjoa. It was near Playland at the Beach and down the hill from the Cliff House in San Francisco. In 1972, it was given back to Norway and lives in the Norwegian Maritime Museum.


Photo_user_banned_big

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

 Hi Sarge,


 I say Alaska.. won't find many children there and good for you... I think it's probably still lovely, you sould see it before it changes.

Att179311_max50

974 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Well Alaska would be a great cruise and there is one that has a stop at skagway and can take a seanic train ride

20552_1343137337912_1215571721_31006460_5991340_n_max50

272 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Google Island Windjammers for a no kiddie cruise on the Caribean. The wife and I considered this but are waiting until the Sci-Fi brothel to open in Nevada.

Boat_max50

370 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

A doctor at work goes every year and he rants about it all the time I say go and enjoy :) Life is short to miss an opportuinity with those you love and I think Alaska would be unique as well ....breathtaking to say the least whale watching would be really neat... just don't get overtaken by polar bears... I like the train idea too they say the country side is amazing..


In Life we should experience an adventure that will create a memory worth repeating.....unknown.....

Blue_candle_holiday_memory_max50

1259 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

My better half and I have been talking about an Alaskan cruise for several years...I'd say do it now, while you're still young and healthy!!


Don't sweat the small stuff....you'll dehydrate

Cruise_2014_max50

2579 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 2 years ago

 

 Okay Sarge, I've been on 4 cruises. Never been on one to Alaska. The misses and I are wanting to do that trip but have to save the coin to take it. 


I don't know what cruise lines you are looking at but try to go with the higher end ones. They give you the most for your money including good rates for excursions and contact with local merchants and day trips. If it's just going to be you and the misses stay away from the "family" cruise lines. Lots of kids running around and it may impact your enjoyment.  Make sure you are ready to pack on a couple pounds cause you WILL be eating more than you normally do.


Funny story - 


Several years ago I was the State Delegate for my PBA local. As such, I was required to attend the annual convention of the New Jersey State PBA. These conventions are just what you would expect and are open to the entire membership. As a change of pace, the powers that be decided a Caribbean cruise would be nice. Well, we packed that cruise ship entirely with cops and their families. Apparently, the cruise line wasn't prepared for an entire ship full of LE types. We drank the ship DRY!! TWICE!!!


They not only had to restock the ship in port, but had to restock once again through a TENDER SHIP that brought more beer to us when they ran out the second time. What a great trip!!


PL MENTORING TEAM MEMBER

"Don't underestimate the drawing power of the Garden State." From the film "Dogma"

Trying to stay sane in an insane world...

Texas02n_max600_max50

325 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

My aunt and uncle took a cruise to Alaska a few years back. They went in the summer when the weather isn't so bad. They both loved it and enjoyed it thoroughly. They talked about the scenery and wildlife they were able to see when the boat got close enough to the shore. I don't remember what cruise line they took though.


"Niether fire nor wind, birth nor death can erase our good deeds." Buddha

Wredcedar_max50

1244 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Been on one Alaskan and 2 Carribean crusies, liked Alaska the best.  If you can get to Juneau on the 4th of july they have a geat  4th of July parade.  The Skagway narrow guage train ride is wonderful, and also and you get to see what the 49ers went through to get to Canada for the gold rush (since I had a great uncle who was involved in the gold rush it was more interesting to me).  Also in Juneau take the cable car to where ever, forget the name of the park at the top.

Image_max50

343 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

 Go for it Sarge. My cousins last year took a cruise to Alaska and they had a great time.

-26 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Ah! An Alaskan cruise.MIght want to try Soldotna.Fantastic fishing,the trout capt. of the world.If you are fond of that try Guam next.Been there,done that with lay over in Honolulu and stops at Midway and Wake.  Hope you both enjoy it.

1979_max50

3272 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Okay, I am 'supposed to be' and expert on cruising as I ran a cruise website for about four years and have taken somewhere around 30 cruises so I will try and post some stuff about cruising.


Your very first cruise should be a 4 or 5 day so that you can feel it out and get a very good idea if cruising is for you or not. The three day cruises are just too short IMHO as you just get settled in and it is over. I much prefer the 7-8 days cruises as I have found them to be just long enough to really be enjoyable but by then it is time to get home and see what is going on. 90% or better LOVE cruising. There are a good deal who will book their next cruise before they even get off the ship! The number of repeat cruisers is usually close to 70% on any given cruise and sometimes higher on others.


The ship is large enough that you usually forget you are even on a ship and unless you go out on deck you can believe you are in a large hotel convention center.The Bow section does rock more and the Stern also rocks and often you can hear the engines if you are on a lower level. Not bad though as it is relaxing to many, including me. I also have not been seasick so I don't mind being in the foremost cabin in the bow either and I have been a number of times. The lower center of the ship is the smoothest.


The food is basically non-stop and there is always something to eat even if you just want to call room service. All of it is free with the exception of now some specialty areas like a sweets or special coffee bar. You can also make reservation in the speciality restaurant and they charge you a fee for that which is basically nothing more than a very generous tip t4at goes to the staff that works there. They do not work in the main dining area so this is where they get their tips and it is well worth it! For something like $25 you get a meal that would cost you upwards of $150 -$200 in NYC and you have your own personal waiters and the menu is one that any restaurant would be proud to serve. We're poor but I have done this twice for special events and it was worth it! These were on Carnival but I am sure that other lines are just as good.


There is nightly entertainment in the way of shows in the main lounge with two of them being Las Vegas type shows with dancers, singers, pyrotechnics, props, etc. The other nights you have performers who travel to and from the ships who juggle, perform magic, or other forms of entertainment. In the rear lounge you have bands that perform or comedians and you also have three or four smaller ensembles that play throughout the ship until late at night. You also have the "Disco" or Dance clubs with one for kids, one for young adults and one for adults with that one going until dawn if you like. The casino is also open 24/7 when it is legal to do so out past the 3 mile limit. During the day you still have lots to do even onboard ship from laying in the sun, watching or participating in Deck games, the various onboard games and activities like basketball, golf, mini-golf, ping-pong, shuffle-board, rock wall climbing, surfing and even ice skating. On Royal Caribbean ships you have an inside "street" that has shops and entertainment including a parade They also have a couple of Skating shows that are not to be missed!


More later


 

1979_max50

3272 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Here is a BASIC review of Cruiselines and who they are for:


Carnival, Younger people up to the age of 70. Las Vegas style entertainment with always something to do for people on the go and also plenty of areas to just lay back and relax especially in the Spa area. Full Gym etc. Food is excellent as is service. Very friendly staff that treat you like friends and if you treat them back that way they actually do become friends. (I know because I have a number of close friends who I first met on Carnival and we have even been and stayed in each others homes. My best friend used to work on a ship) Cabins are comfortable but compact.


Royal Caribbean. Very similar to Carnival but they have more to do for families such as the rock climbing wall, Ice Skating and even surfing on a wave machine on the rear deck. A little more flash in decor with more tinted glass, especially around the decks. The staff is a little stand offish and concerned with doing their job the way they have been taught and not as open to personal conversation. Seems to me the kids on RCL are often spoiled and snotty. Not all of course but enough to tick me off on a number of cruises.


Princess. Princess is supposed to be a cross between Carnival and Celebrity with more formal service and sedated entertainment. I have not had the pleasure of a Princess cruise yet. Also for some reason, maybe the name, my gay friends say they love that cruiseline and it is their favorite. <LOL>


Celebrity, Very formal with the crew being most proper and white glove. I thought it too stiff for my tastes but the ships are great and very relaxing. Mainly middle-age and older successful people cruise on this line. The entertainment is more sophisticated as well and the ship is often very quite and they like it that way. They do have activities but the kind that are much less intense or active as other lines. Very reserved and somewhat social status types. In the VIP lounge you get extras and also access to a special area which is like a private club. I noticed that many of those older people in the VIP Lounge were the type to tell you how many cruises they have done, how much money they have, and how important they are. <VBG> When asking me what I did I simply told them I was a MotorCop who retired early because of injuries. That often got me the stare down the noses and questioned why I was allowed in the VIP area. They shut up when I told them I was a guest of the President and CEO of Royal Caribbean <LOL> That only happened a couple of times by a small number of people but it did happen. <G> Those types usually just stay in their cabin or in the VIP area so they don't bother the other guests fortunately.


Holland America is mainly for those over 60 and while the service is fantastic unlike other ships who have a wide variety of nations that the crew hails from, they are almost all Filipinos. They are also proud of that and treat you very well. The entertainment is geared to the older people with Big Band and Swing Band the usually entertainment. Very few kids. On my cruise I counted four kids who looked absolutely miserable in the one small room set aside for them. They are supposed to be trying for a younger crowd and i have not cruised with them for over ten years.

-30 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

Sarge, you are going to love Alaska,  it is America's best kept secret!  I did four years there in Anchorage, met and married my wife there!  Never did the cruise thing in AK but have a few times in warmer climates. Get a balcony suite so you can enjoy the sights without leaving your room.  I drove there and back from Miami and that was much better for me because I got to see America and dodge a tornado or two.  I suggest traveling in the summer but bring a big coat!  It is still cold for folks from the lower 48, unless you are from Minnesota then you would be good.  Freeze is your best bet for advice for places to go and see! Bring your video, man I miss Alaska!  Enjoy, that is a trip of a lifetime!

1979_max50

3272 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

ssu459 says ...



Ah! An Alaskan cruise.MIght want to try Soldotna.Fantastic fishing,the trout capt. of the world.If you are fond of that try Guam next.Been there,done that with lay over in Honolulu and stops at Midway and Wake.  Hope you both enjoy it.



Dave, that last one sounds like Military to me. <LOL> I lived on Guam for a year back in the late 60's and LOVED it. The only thing I hated was being so far from home and missing my family and friends etc. Also I missed the little things like fresh milk even though I was not a milk drinker. The fact that they didn't have any just made me want some. We used to get it off the airlines when they came in and some of our men cleaned the planes. Guam was a beautiful island and the people were wonderful back then. My favorite cruise right now was in the French Poloynesia, Tahiti, Rattoaia, Taa, Huahine, Moorea, and Bora-Bora were unbelievableably beautiful. I would love to live there if it were not so expensive!

1979_max50

3272 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

I agree with Steve Sarge, whenever you do someplace like Alaska, you need to get at least an outside cabin as the views of the coast are beautiful and you are in view of the coast. Just make sure you get the side of the ship that faces the coast! <LOL>


That is a hint too folks. I always take any cabin just so long as I am on the ship but for certain cruises an outside is required and a Balcony is best such as Alaska, Hawaii, Mediterranean, and Panama Canal and of course Tahiti!

Wredcedar_max50

1244 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 2 years ago

 

On all my cruises, I was onlty in my room to shower and sleep, prefer to sight see the coast from a deck chair, of course I was trying to go on the cheap so a smaller inside cabin was fine with me.

Next Page >