General Forums >> The Lobby >> Officer Complaints

Rate

Officer Complaints

647 Views
28 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Th_plugman1_max50

391 posts

back to top

Posted over 7 years ago

 

I'm just wondering how differant agencies handle complaints against their officers..

367926427_m_max50

293 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

IA

Th_plugman1_max50

391 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Hawk, I should have been more discriptive, I mean when does your agency deside whether it is just someone letting off steam or making a real complaint. For example, I work in a small department which comes with the small community mentality. Some citizen's will come in because maybe the officer's didn't wave at them as they went code 3 to a call. These among other's that a lot of larger agencies would just tell them to go pound sand are a daily issue. I had to do a IA on a officer who told a driver, "way to go genius". Our chief was pissed at his comment because the guy complained. When I worked in a big agency in California again he would have been told to go pound sand. I hope that is a better discription of what I ment by my question.

367926427_m_max50

293 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

sorry about that I thought you meant did we handle them internally or not. Complaints like you describe don't hold any water. Good bosses make them go away. We have a pretty good IA office and they review the complaints and take it from the source. Most of the time we don't have any problems. The officers that do get in trouble it usually stems from and off duty incident (Booze and women) sorry ladies.

367926427_m_max50

293 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

sorry about that I thought you meant did we handle them internally or not. Complaints like you describe don't hold any water. Good bosses make them go away. We have a pretty good IA office and they review the complaints and take it from the source. Most of the time we don't have any problems. The officers that do get in trouble it usually stems from and off duty incident (Booze and women) sorry ladies.

1979_max50

3272 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

When I first started we had a SOB Capt. who was IA. Just him. He was also a real SOB and if someone complained on you, then you were guilty, period! Needless to say I got quite a few complaints and letters in my files, none of which were deserved. The times I deserved to be complained on, they usually didn't because they knew they asked for it. Later we got someone with a couple of working brain cells and while he would look into complaints, they better have their ducks in a row and the complaint better be something that is real and not harassment to the Officer or he would toss them out of his office on their ear.

Meangreen01_max50

2482 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

In my office all complaints go to the duty supervisor. He takes the call or in-person complaint and reviews it for substance. If it has substance or the possibility of substance then it is turned over to IA. Then they investigate for 4 weeks to 2 years while you rot on the rubber gun squad. The good supervisors know when to place the frivolous complaints in the circular file.


"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf." ~ George Orwell

"Honor First!"

MODERATOR #1 & PL Mentoring Team Member

My_lapd_badge_max50

166 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

I can tell you that the LAPD sucks when it comes to complaints against Officers !!! Your guilty until proven innocent! If you play hide and seek for two grand a week, like a lot of Officers do, then you get no, or very few complaints! If you deal with the people that need to be dealt with, I.E., gang members and the like, get a lot of guns off the street, foot pursuits, vehicle pursuits, multiple uses of force, mouth beefs from dealing with degenerates that only understand a certain type of language and action, STAND BY, you get slapped by the BEAN counters! You end up on a special list up at LAPD Risk management (I know because I am on the list) Guys and gals that are wearing Code-37, stolen uniforms, IA RATS! IA used to be a necessary evil, but now it is a laughing stalk! Most, not all, but most are a bunch of bean counting opportunists that are on their knee's sucking up for a promotion! Weak-arse turds that true Warriors wouldn't ever want to work with, because they would get someone hurt! They have NO business being cops let alone supervisors! Most complaints are frivolous, and could be quickly handled by a COMPETENT supervisor, but not the bean counting LAPD! Takes forever and used against you later, even with no sustained complaints! Most supervisors on the LAPD don't want to have to deal with all the paper work, so they prefer an Officer with a clean package, I.E., a slap-d I c k that does nothing but the bear minimum, and nothing more! Now I can't blame those that have been burned with a false complaints, but shame on the City Of Los Angeles, and any other weak city that follows our weak system! All we want to do is chase bad guys and if they want to fight or test the boundaries, that LAPD Turdin is of their own desire and doing! And for the record I have NO sustained complaints in almost ten years! And as I tell the gang members, I am a whopping 5'10" and you can stack those complaints as high as I am tall! I look at them as commendations for doing my job, and my neighbors get a kick out of them at cook outs. They can't believe that the LAPD is so weak in the knees when it comes to frivolous complaints! I pray that your department is not as weak as mine, but even if they are, keep slugging away! And remember it's better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6!

Stay Safe Warriors, inside and out!
Ed O'Shea


Stay Safe Warriors!

Ed O'Shea

Ltsh1_max50

632 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Have any of you ever just felt like saying...

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

God knows I have!!!

Avatar_7757_max50

82 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

The way we handle complaints is first, if the individual doesn't make the complaint in writing it doesn't even go any further. Second the Sgt. is sure to let the complainant know that if it is found out to be a lie against the officer that the officer in question may then proceed to sue the complainant for deformation of character. That usually takes care of any bogus complaints.

Th_plugman1_max50

391 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Thanks to everyone for their input. I really think that most of our complaints are due to the size of our community. Our chief is really into, "what's best for the city". I for the most part agree, until I'm handing "the city" the vasoline, if you know what I mean. I usually am in charge of the investigations on the officers, but sometimes I think I'm having to put these officer's under unneeded stress because it isn't true or it's a bunch of BS. I get so sick of citizens that feel we have to stop what we are doing to let them know that, "they pay our wages" which is what they want to feel. Our newspaper got so many complaints from our citizes when the city decided to take out monthly earnings off the the paper. The citizens got so pissed, the newspaper made an official request for all city employees wages to post in the newspaper. Don't get me wrong for the most part I like raising my kids here, due to it being small, but I sometimes hate small towns for the mere fact that they think they own us.

Dawndive_004_max50

1280 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

NYPD can I get that as a bumper sticker??????

Dawndive_004_max50

1280 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

In our office it depends on witch superviser they get. If the right one gets it he takes both sides then makes a judgement...

367926427_m_max50

293 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

It just seems to me that the ones who should complain don't.

100_1981_3__max50

1960 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Chief won't accept a formal complaint unless it is in writing, which eliminates ALOT of BS complaints. Formal complaints are usually dismissed once the video is shown.

SGT1202. the next time someone tells you "I pay your salary" tell them you need a raise.


"It would be better for one to have a stone tied around their neck and thrown into the sea, than to cause a child to stumble."

"Well-behaved women rarely make history"

100_1981_3__max50

1960 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 


"It would be better for one to have a stone tied around their neck and thrown into the sea, than to cause a child to stumble."

"Well-behaved women rarely make history"

Police-19_max50

1827 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

I work in a very political area, Have you all ever heard of The Woodlands look it up and you will understand. I hear daily on stops "dont you know who I am" Yes I do now I have your DL. Also its ok officer I live here again yes I know you do I have your DL. The Woodlandites can do nothing wrong and there is no crime in The Woodlands. And to back it up the Justice of the Peace is as liberal as they come. We have to tip toe around here every complaint is looked at with a fine tooth comb.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Police-19_max50

1827 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

100_1981_3__max50

1960 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Tx_LawMan, I have had the same response on several traffic stops in Giddings. It's the small town, upper class mentality.

My most recent one told me, "You mean to tell me that your actually going to write a local business owner a ticket for no seatbelt?!!" He got two tickets, one for the seatbelt and one for running a stop sign. JERK.

Of course, he complained to Chief, but what the violator didn't know was that Chief was riding with me when I stopped him and listened to the entire traffic stop!! Chief jumpred his ass for being rude and MR. Local Business Owner pled GUILTY!!!


"It would be better for one to have a stone tied around their neck and thrown into the sea, than to cause a child to stumble."

"Well-behaved women rarely make history"

1979_max50

3272 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

If you aren't getting complaints....you aren't doing your job. As for those that proclaim "Do you know who I am?", look confused, look at his DL and say, this IS you, right? Then tell them that yes, you do indeed know who he is and appreciate his confirmation to the ticket will reflect the proper person. Being nice often really pisses them off and of course you just keep writing, and writing, and writing. LOL! It took me a bit but I finally did get it through my thick head that the pen really is a lot more powerful than the sword.

Police-19_max50

1827 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

LCarvin I love it thats wonderful. Here is the funny thing about my job and area. Ok guys dont laugh I know being a ISD cop is considered lame and we are just kiddy cops and all that. But I will say I work with some bang up officers. Well we get talked to by our supervisors for doing a police officers job, if we run traffic we get talked to. For example I was traveling from school to school one night and I heard a deputy run CCH on 2 turds. Came back a mile long on both prison for controlled substance and assault of public servant. She called for a 2nd officer to check by so I did I was the closest unit around S.O. was swamped with calls and I was less then a mile from her location. I got called in to the sgt's office for checking by and assisting her even though things were starting to get rough when I got there. Well to make a long story short my favorite is "your just a school cop you cant write me a ticket". I will state this and get off my little soap box there are alot of ISD cops out there that are damn good police officers I came here to get my foot in the door until I get on with a local Dept and still get good experience. We are all out here doing the same job and you are all my brothers and sisters I learned working for TDCJ "take care of your own" and I believe it I will get my ass kicked with a city officer or S.O. Deputy I know I got off task here but I got my cage rattled today by a S.O. deputy who told me to go write a tardy. I am sorry you all had to here me bitch. I will end now....lol


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Th_plugman1_max50

391 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Tx just let it all out. That's what were here for and to that S.O. deputy he will have think abou what he said when you're the only one there to save his ass. People sometimes need to think before they talk.

Police-19_max50

1827 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

LOL I am sorry I got totaly off topic here I just got on a little bit of a rant.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Usmcdevildog_max50

602 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Tx, I had a friend that was dating a younger (and extremely ignorant, immature, ect.ect.ect.) that said that she would go off on any ISD officer that ever pulled her over cause they don't have the authority. Well, my mentality is that a cop is a cop is a cop. I don't care what you do. ISD, Mental heath, MAP, doesn't matter. I completely went off on her and told my buddy that he needed to kick her to the curb before he ended up having to pay bail. Don't sweat comments like the deputies. You serve a very important role. If there had been officers in Colombine ISD it might have gone differently. And don't worry bout the rant. We're here for support.


"Certainly there is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men and liked it never really care for anything else thereafter. You will meet them doing various other things with resolve, but their interest rarely holds because after the other thing ordinary life is as flat as the taste of wine after the taste buds have been burned off your tongue." Ernest Hemingway

Usmcdevildog_max50

602 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

Oops. TX don't feel bad, i got off topic too. I've been fortunate im my career to have chiefs and supers that would pretty much tell someone to pi$$ off if they came in with some cocka de torro complaint. At the first dept that I worked for I had a city councilman (that didn't like me to begin with) start crap about a rumor and not an actual event and pushed for me to be suspended. This place was just about the worst that the small town mentality can get. Chief typed up the suspension paper in front of the councilman and told me I had 3 days off. when the councilman griped about me still having a badge and gun chief took the badge and told him that the gun was mine and he couldn't take it. Well, long story short chief walked me out to my pickup and threw my badge onto the seat and tore up the suspension letter and said enjoy a little vacation. He told me that this was the easiest way to get the guy off my back. That's the kind of supervisor that you can respect.


"Certainly there is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men and liked it never really care for anything else thereafter. You will meet them doing various other things with resolve, but their interest rarely holds because after the other thing ordinary life is as flat as the taste of wine after the taste buds have been burned off your tongue." Ernest Hemingway

Police-19_max50

1827 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

devildog911 said:

Tx, I had a friend that was dating a younger (and extremely ignorant, immature, ect.ect.ect.) that said that she would go off on any ISD officer that ever pulled her over cause they don't have the authority. Well, my mentality is that a cop is a cop is a cop. I don't care what you do. ISD, Mental heath, MAP, doesn't matter. I completely went off on her and told my buddy that he needed to kick her to the curb before he ended up having to pay bail. Don't sweat comments like the deputies. You serve a very important role. If there had been officers in Colombine ISD it might have gone differently. And don't worry bout the rant. We're here for support.

Thanks alot Devildog


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Police-19_max50

1827 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

now thats what I call a Chief I would work for a Chief like that any day of the week.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Dock_max50

1150 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

To devildog911

That was cool !! and obivously you had his respect as well.