General Forums >> The Lobby >> Poll: Concealed Carry Opinion

Rate

Poll: Concealed Carry Opinion

3,552 Views
43 Replies Flag as inappropriate

Poll: Do you support liberalized carry conceal laws?

Pam_max50

6 posts

back to top

Posted over 3 years ago

 

Hello,


My son is doing a research paper for a college class.  He had to choose a hypothesis statement, then research to prove it one way or the other.  The statement he chose was:


"States that have concealed carry permits are less likely to have a high rate of gun-related felonies."


Several years ago, when my state passed CCW, I was concerned.  At the time I was a poster on another LE forum, and I posed my concern.  I was very surprised that LE, in general, was very supportive of CCW.  I had originally thought they would oppose it.  I felt that anyone being able to carry concealed, would pose a higher danger for them.  However, to a person, they supported CCW. 


My son wanted to use some of those comments in his paper, to show another side to the issue.  If LE--those on the front lines most affected--support CCW, it adds a whole new dimension to the argument...and to his presentation of the data he has collected.


So...I am asking for opinions...current ones.  How do you feel about citizens carrying concealed?  For or against, and why.


Thank you.

White_shirt_max50

4773 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

I think citizens should be able to carry concealed however, my concern is the training.

Pam_max50

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

uncledennis1 says ...



I think citizens should be able to carry concealed however, my concern is the training.



 


I don't think my son focused on that aspect in his research...only supporting the contention that crime rates tend to drop when CCW laws are passed.  I would think states might require some type of gun safety class, but I don't know. 

-188 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 3 years ago

 

He might want to check out a book entitled "More Guns, Less Crime:  Understanding Crime and Gun Control Laws" by John R. Lott, Jr.


There are those who should never be allowed to own a firearm, such as those with a felony conviction, but the 2d Amendment stands for the rest of us.


The book will provide great insight into the scholastic and statistical insight into what he's researching.

Pam_max50

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

He has...he's not looking for the facts and data.  His report is done, with research from ppl like Lott, Kleck, Kates,and many more.


What he wants, is to add the component of law enforcement opinion.  I have read part of that book too, and it is great reading.

White_shirt_max50

4773 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Law enforcement personnel will have a variety of opinions. You may not receive a lot of responses on this site.

-191 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

uncledennis1 says ...



I think citizens should be able to carry concealed however, my concern is the training.



Agree with uncledennis, MO has fairly good CCW training (UT is the worst IMO - no qualification), but as a LEO I am glad for citizens to get CCW's.

Eastercat_max50

2382 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

 In PA any one can get a ccw permit as long as you have a good record.   But I think they should require training before giving them out.   


YaYa Sister

-188 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

uncledennis1 says ...



Law enforcement personnel will have a variety of opinions. You may not receive a lot of responses on this site.



Bump.  Unless you get to know us, and let us get to know you a lot, we tend not to "open up" a lot.

-451 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Phoenix, I dont know that there is enough data to support an arguement. My suggestion is that he start with WorldCat or Academic elite to see if there has been prior research academically and then bridge from there.

Csi_squirrle_max600_1__max50

1462 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Instead of unnamed annonymous opinions I suggest that your son contact law enforcement in the area where he goes to school and put names and faces with the law enforcement opinion.  It would be nice to say that he's contacted officers from XYZ agencies and the consunsus of those he talked to was ....


I personally think CCW is a good deterrent and have no problem with law abiding citizens packing heat. 

_cid__img_20100823_145536__max50

4 posts

back to top
+1

Rated +1 | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Well I live in Michigan and we have a requirement for all CPL holders to pass a six-week training course along with a background check to verify that they are eligible to carry concealed. I always either openly carry or coneal carry on a daily basis and police here never seem to have an issue with it. I think it is the right of every American citizen to carry a firearm publicly and that right shouldn't be limited by the federal, state or any loal governments.

Img00039_max50

322 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

And the right to bear arms SHALL NOT be infringed..... ( as opposed to SHOULD NOT).... There are privileges and there are RIGHTS   2nd is a RIGHT..


FBI stats should be considered and the underlying facts understood


Additional examples although quite old may help your son;  "Gun Ownership Mandatory In Kennesaw, Georgia     Crime Rate Plummets"


http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/1818862/posts


"After the law went into effect in 1982, crime against persons plummeted 74 percent compared to 1981, and fell another 45 percent in 1983 compared to 1982.


And it has stayed impressively low. In addition to nearly non-existent homicide (murders have averaged a mere 0.19 per year), the annual number of armed robberies, residential burglaries, commercial burglaries, and rapes have averaged, respectively, 1.69, 31.63, 19.75, and 2.00 through 1998. "

Pam_max50

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

In response to several things.


My son's paper is pretty much written.  I do a lot of copy edit work, so I have looked it over and he has a lot of facts, stats, and info to back up his hypothesis.  My personal opinion is you can find the documentation to support whatever contention you choose to make...but he has done a good job with his paper.  I will, however, have him follow up on some of the suggestions made here.  He has the Lott book, and one by Kleck and somebody...can't remember...and a number of other documents.  I am a teacher and a writer, so I know what to look for, and to be honest, I was quite impressed with what he's put together.


He wanted to add a little different component, however, and just include a few random statements from LE personnel on their personal feelings, as you are the ones on the front lines so to speak.  If anyone is impacted, I would think you would see it and/or experience it. 


Your comments, or lack thereof, are not a critical part of his paper, just a different twist to a traditional format, and we both felt LE opinion was a valuable thing to consider when making a decision on which side of this issue you choose to stand on. 


Sooo....if not knowing me or my son makes ppl feel uncomfortable offering an opinion, that is ok, and I totally understand.  I do, however, appreciate any comments offered, and I know my son does as well.


Thx

-451 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

I hope he included Blumstein and another study by Bilchik in his research

Images_max50

119 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

training is very very poor in MI for CPL license. When I got mine I was in a class with about 20 people and about half of them have not ever even fired a handgun! And the training at the range was very quick and very unproductive. I feel confident in my own self with firearms because I have been around them my whole life, but i felt worried for the people that had no training and experiance and we are going to let them walk around with guns on them. 


Sometimes there's Justice and Sometimes there's Just Us.

Fishing_max50

2 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Citizens should be able to carry concealed because the constitution gives us the right to bear arms and it does not say whether they have to be unconcealed. I do believe that states should be able to conduct background checks on individuals before allowing them to conceal carry and if the person has a felony arrest and/or certain misdemeanor arrests, the right should be revoked. You should not be able to carry at all when drinking and if caught doing so, your permit should be revoked. If anyone uses a firearm in or during the commission of a crime, the penalty should be stiff! We have enough gun laws already on the books. The courts need to enforce them. One more thing...countries or terrorists looking to attack us on our soil will surely think twice when they know that a large percentage of Americans are armed. The Japanese feared a ground attack on the U.S. because of this during World War II. Show me a country or civilization not allowed to keep or bear arms and I will show you a country or civilization of slaves or one that is on the brink of becoming such. 

Imported_photos_00033_-_copy_max50

3 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

I support CCW with proper training.  Like the sayings go, if the criminals don't know who has a concieled gun, some will think twice about commiting the crime.  And if you take guns from citizens, only criminals will have guns.  You will never get rid of criminals with guns.

Photo_user_blank_big

1 post

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

I think citizens should have the right. Though only with the proper training needed, and knowledge of the boundries. I think carrying is a huge responsibility. Not only to your self, but to everyone around you. The last thing we need, is another yahoo carrying a gun.

Photo_user_blank_big

1 post

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Being issued a CCW places a heavy burden on the CCW holder.  That person should not have a criminal background.  They should attend a class wherein the instructor reviews the state's laws regarding the use of a firearm for defense and the legal responsibility that goes with it.  The applicant should be required to display familiarity with the weapon(s) and pass a qualifying and certified firing course of 30 or more rounds.  I have taught marksmanship to military, civilian and law enforcement personnel since 1958.  I have witnessed just about every mistake someone can make with a firearm and can say with confidence that some people are not mentally and/or physically prepared to be allowed anyway near a firearm.  Some who have been raised with firearms can have unsafe habits that must be corrected before they are certified.  Some people should be disqualified from a CCW until such time they have been retrained and cleared, if ever.  It takes a long time to become proficient with a firearm.  People should be trained so they are familiar with firearms, for safety reasons, but not necessarily qualified to carry one.   That training reduces accidents.  Not everyone can ride a bike or drive a vehicle.  So it is obvious not everyone should be allowed to carry or use a firearm.  

Photo_user_blank_big

2 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

To carry concealed legally means that the Sheriff's Dept of that County has issued a permit for that individual to carry a concealed weapon.  Yes for Legal Concealed Carry.  LE does not usually have to worry about law abiding armed citizens. In traffic stops as LE


most Concealed Carry citizens will divulge that they have a weapon and a permit.Yes to Legal Armed America.


No to the other citizen carrying a weapon at all!


 


AlabamCop

Photo_user_blank_big

1 post

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

        Some states have tough concealed carry laws for civilians.  I believe with a clean criminal history along with being free of drug & alcohol problems, as well as no mental illness the proper training should be available for self defense with a firearm with a permit to carry.


        Mine is HR 218.

Img00039_max50

322 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Food For Thought


You might suggest he  research ; What other "Rights" are "subject to" ?


There seems to be alot of ' Ifs ands & buts' concerning this issue and I'd like to know how justified I am expecting that there are  requirements for training , mental stability, and clean record.


"The Right To Bear Arms SHALL NOT Be Infringed " , as in requiring training, permits, limitations on where one may carry. I think airports, churches and schools SHOULD reconsider their 'Special Status' seems as though that's not working out so well eh?   etc..


The term "SHALL" , by definition,  demands that the statement be absolutely  obeyed as opposed to a word  such as " Should" , which carries no demand but ONLY a suggestion.


Some argue that the 2nd Amendment only applies to a militia, some claim a militia has no chance against a modern organized army so why bother ? I say how about these examples;      Russia against the Afghan's..Or the French and  USA against the Vietnamese.


 

Usmc_max50

3224 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

My opinion: 


I support CCW. I have no problems with law abiding citizens carrying firearms.  You can quote that.


Happiness is a belt fed weapon.
Great danger lies in the notion that we can reason with evil.

Tribal_cat_tattoo__2__max50

1906 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Taffy says ...



My opinion: 


I support CCW. I have no problems with law abiding citizens carrying firearms.  You can quote that.



Bump!


"Government's first duty is to protect the people, not run their lives." - Ronald Reagan

Photo_user_blank_big

5 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

I support CCW. I have no problems with law abiding citizens carrying firearms of any caliber and model as long as they can qualify with it...and have the proper training

-44 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

I agree with CCW, but Like others have said, The training is lacking. In FL, you get a 2 hour class, shoot one round at a target (regardless of whether you hit it or not), fingerprint card, a short application, a picture, a check or money order, and it's off to the state licensing office. 2 weeks later, whamo. There should be a heck of a lot more training as far as I'm concerned, but that will take a few innocent people getting killed by someone defending themselves before that happens.


What I DO NOT agree with is a Mother doing her College age sons Homework for him.

Img008_max50

136 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

This question strikes me as one being given by a liberal college professor,  all citizens entitled,no.  No one entitled, no.  It's like the old question of " Do you beat your wife anymore? Not a yes or no answer is sufficient.

Scan_max50

1 post

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

 If the Citizens are trained right why not. It would safer for all of us.

Pam_max50

6 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 3 years ago

 

Wow!  Thanks everyone.  Appreciate your input. 


For the poster that talked about the 2nd amendment, my son did include a section on that in his paper.  He pointed out that at the time the Constitution was written, the militia WAS the everyday citizen.  Also, if you go back and look at writings from many of the founding fathers, and people from that era, they were adamant about a person's right to bear arms.  Perhaps, having at one time bent knee to England, and feeling as if they were betrayed and subjected to becoming little more than a possession without rights, they wanted to preserve American freedom by ensuring they were armed and retained the ability to stand up and say, "No, this isn't right."  At least, that is the angle he took.


Several years ago when my state adopted CCW laws, I posted on a police forum and asked LE opinion.  I really felt most would oppose it, as I saw it being more dangerous to cops than anyone else.  However, almost to a person they supported it, and were adamant about it being a right.  They did, however, stress the need for training, and some talked about proper choices if you are stopped.  For example, reaching for your weapon so you can hand it to the officer stopping you, is NOT a good idea. 


Civilian posters also chimed in, and many said they keep their hands clear, where the officer can see them, and make sure to inform them they are carrying.  Then the officers make the decision on how best to proceed from there.  However, many officers told me they know before they walk up to a stopped vehicle that the owner is licensed to carry.


I am actually afraid of weapons, but after that forum conversation, I really wanted to learn to use a gun and apply for a CCW.  LOL.  I never did.  However, now I am divorced and living alone.  I am intelligent, responsible, and probably very capable of owning and using a gun.  I would like to learn, but in my small community, I have not been able to find classes on basic gun handling, which is where I would need to start.  So, it's not as easy as just going out and grabbing a gun somewhere, and then applying for a license.  I, personally, do not WANT to carry unless I have training.  I would want to know some of the laws, how to inform an officer that I have a weapon if I'm stopped, and a review of safety issues.  I just think it makes sense. 


Again, thank you to everyone that posted a response...it is greatly appreciated.


 

Next Page >