Off Duty Forums >> Police Family Life >> Final Inspection

Rate

Final Inspection

795 Views
12 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Finishing_touches_max50

28 posts

back to top

Posted over 7 years ago

 

"The Final Inspection"
The policeman stood and faced his God,
which must always come to pass.
He hoped his shoes were shining
just as brightly as his brass.
"Step forward now, policeman.
How shall I deal with you?
Have you always turned the other cheek?
To my church have you been true?"
The policeman squared his shoulders and said,
"No Lord. I guess I ain't.
Because those who carry badges
can't always be a saint.
I've had to work most Sundays,
and at times my talk was rough...
and sometimes I've been violent
because the streets are awful tough.
But I never took a penny
that wasn't mine to keep...
though I worked a lot of overtime
when the bills got just too steep.
And I never passed a cry for help,
though at times I shook with fear.
And sometimes, God forgive me,
I've wept unmanly tears.
I know I don't deserve a place
among the people here.
They never wanted me around
except to calm their fear.
If you've a place for me here, Lord,
it needn't be so grand.
I never expected or had too much.
But if you don't...I'll understand."
There was silence all around the throne
where the saints had often trod,
as the policeman waited quietly
for the judgement of his God.
"Step forward now, policeman.
You've borne your burdens well.
Come walk a beat on heaven's streets.
You've done your time in hell."
–Author unknown

Img_3413_sq90_max50

712 posts

    

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

This is one of my favorite poems. One of our Captains has it hanging in his Office and whenever one of the guys reads it, you can see how it hits them. Thank you for sharing this.

Photo_user_banned_big

415 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

It is always good to keep religion with you in this job... whether (weather, don't know which one) He's out there or not...

Finishing_touches_max50

28 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

SuperTrooper, after 21 years in this profession I have found that I couldn't have survived this career without GOd being in my life. There has been so many times in my career that I could have bought it and how I came out of it is beyond me some say I am lucky and I tell them that luck has nothing to do with it, God has other reason for me to be here and when my job is over then he will call me home. I don't preach on the job but if someone ask me about my faith I am not bashful in telling it. I pray before every meal and you should hear some of the conversations that are brought to me about it. LOL I guess people just realize that Police in uniform believe in God.

Photo_user_banned_big

415 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

I am Catholic, and deeply believe in my faith.. so much actually that I once was considering the priesthood. It is good that you keep God close to you... its the smallest things that proves He watches us and has His own plan for us... good job! Stay safe!

PS You should keep St. Michael's prayer card taped to your police hat, on the inside =)

Img_3413_sq90_max50

712 posts

    

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

I think that is why so many of the officers turn to me during their hard times. I have a strong faith in God. I too don't "preach" but when asked I do talk about my beliefs. As a result, the guys often approach me to to ask for help, prayers, etc. I have many friends that are proof that there is a God there is no reason they should be alive except that there is a God. I find many times cops have trouble believing in God because of what they see, but they also know how much worse it would be if there wasn't God. I hear them in one breath saying "how can there be a God if He allows that to happen?" and in the next breath thanking God for helping them through that particular time.

-91 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

I'm alive today because God and I were a two man unit.

Finishing_touches_max50

28 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

I bought a shirt during police week a few years back. The shirt has long worn out but I still like the saying that was on it. " God is my partner on the thin blue line."

9-11-logo_max50

1075 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

One reason I consider LE to be a high calling is that cops OFTEN serve as God's hands, God's voice, in the midst of chaos and human sin.

I believe God cares about justice and about mercy. And those are the two things you all most "bring to the party", or try to. It is at the most extreme moments of our lives that we call 911 and ask for help, and those same moments when we breathe that most sincere prayer, "God help me!"

And who comes into the scene to help?

Cops.

You OFTEN serve as God's agents, and I daily pray for your protection from the dangers that would harm you inside and out.

-1 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

The single greatest & most honest poem ever written. God is always with us. And to SuperTrooper, I to am Catholic and feel the same as you, I have St. Michael around my neck, in my vest and in my car and he has been there for me on the street on countless occasions.

9-11-logo_max50

1075 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

You might enjoy this prayer, then...

St. Michael, Heaven's glorious Commissioner of police, who once so neatly and successfully cleared God's premises of all its undesirables, look with kindly and professional eye upon your earthly forces.

Give us cool heads, stout hearts, hard punches, an uncanny flair for investigation and wise judgment.

Make us the terror of burglars, the friend of children and law abiding citizens, kind to strangers, polite to bores, strict with law-breakers and impervious to temptation.

You know, St. Michael, from your own experience with the devil that the policeman's lot on earth is not always a happy one; but your sense of duty pleased God, your hard knocks surprised the devil and your angelic self-control gives us inspiration.

And when we lay down our night sticks, enroll us in your Heavenly Force, where we will be as proud to guard the throne of God as we have been to guard the city of men. Amen.

Img00083-20110419-1515_max50

32 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted over 7 years ago

 

I love this poem! I have it posted in my room reminding me of everyone who is risking their lives to make mine easier!