General Forums >> The Lobby >> I need opinions on becoming an MP...

Rate

I need opinions on becoming an MP...

244 Views
8 Replies Flag as inappropriate
Photo_user_blank_big

30 posts

back to top

Posted almost 7 years ago

 

Im 23 and i'm looking for A) experience as a police officer, B) pride in serving my country in the armed service and C) a head start financially and a way to pay for education to become a LEO full-time. Whats your opinion on becoming a reservist MP? I read alot about them overseas and it seems they're doing more infantry/escort duty than they are police work as of late, which I guess is ok but I wasn't looking forward to constantly being in extreme danger over there when/if I do get deployed....but i guess no one ever is really.

any advice??

Death_max50

1275 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 7 years ago

 

There is honor in both professions. They have similar missions in regards to law enforcement, but MP has a combat aspect that is not applicable to LE. Join the Army as an MP if you want to be an MP in the Army. It's not a matter of if you'll be deployed, it's when. That applies to Reserve, Active and National Guard. There are ways to become an officer if you qualify, without an degree.

My advice: "Be here now" that means choose to do, right now, what you want to do, right now. Tomorrow isn't promised.

Photo_user_blank_big

1 post

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 7 years ago

 

As a former Air Force Air Police and then Security Police Officer I can advise you that you would get all the experience and hands on knowledge of all aspects of Police work when you join the Military. Remember that the Law Enforcement aspect of Military Law Enforcement takes a back seat to the main mission of Force Protection. In todays environment when you are deployed you will get more experience as a Police Officer than you would normally do if you were not in the Military.

Good luck to you

Thi_seal_max50

1751 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 7 years ago

 

Speaking as a former active duty army MP, it is either the #1 or #2 most deployed MOS in the army. The other problem is that the Deptarment of the Army will put a "stop loss'" in effect from time to time, which means that you cannot ETS. When I got out of the army in 2000 the MP experience did not help me get a LE job. All the places I applied gave "Veterans" the same points, regardless of MOS. I was begged by a National Guard recruiter to go into the guard. He said "You know there is an MP unit not 10 miles from your home of record, don't lose that 5 years you already have invested". I got completely out and it was the right decision for me. That MP unit down the road has deployed 2 times since 9/11 and I think they are going again soon. The army MP's DO NOT do alot of Law Enforcement, the new mission is combat support.

Good Luck to you!


PL Mentoring Team Member

My day begins when yours ends.

-28 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 7 years ago

 

If you really want it, get it in your contract (make sure it's in writing). You don't know how many fellow grunts I met saying "They told me I could transfer to MP after basic." - the reality is, yeah, maybe after your initial enlistment....

Eagle_edited_max50

77 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 7 years ago

 

Being a Military Police in any branch is tough, you learn Military Law which does not apply to the civilian sector and about the only thing you will learn in a one time enlistment is building clearing, you won't make grade fast enough to get a patrol position at a post or base. So as far as learning for LEO position, you will have little or no experiance to offer the civilian sector. Believe it or not, the best law enforcement military branch to be in is either the Marines or Navy. They either work on ships or at naval bases and don't do much policeing in conflict countrys like the other branches do. IMO

Photo_user_blank_big

30 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 7 years ago

 

well my biggest problem is that around here, everyone requires an associates and i'm 30 credit hours away and haven't been in school for a year and a half. I lost all my state funding and i'd have to pay on my own, which isn't so bad i guess.

I really do like the incentives and all that but i feel like i have so much more to offer when i do get to patrolling back here that i'd hate to go overseas and get shot or something. Like i said, no one ever wants to die for their country but some are willing. I guess i gotta ask myself if im ready.

As far as getting a good grade early, i scored a 96 on my ASVAB and with my college experience, my recruiter said i could go into OCS almost immediately, and they did guarantee me that i would be MP and goto AIT to be an MP right after basic. I mean, $14,000 in my pocket for two months of no expense work is nice...plus i'm sure it would help my dream of going SWAT or to a federal field position.

I don't know, but keep the opinions coming!!! its helping alot!

Mr

89 posts

back to top
Rate

Rate This | Posted almost 7 years ago

 

i became a reserve MP after 9/11. i was the start of my law enforcement career, and the best choice i have made. fortunately, i have not seen time over sea, however, i did spend time dowm south after katrina as well as in Toledo, Oh for the recent riot. now, i am going to school for law enforcement on the goverments dime. couldnt ask for more. GOOD LUCK.